My Favorite Books from 2016

I’ve had the pleasure of reviewing more than 50 books this year and reading many others in my spare time. That’s a nice way to occupy one’s days, but it doesn’t leave much time for keeping one’s blog up to date. I thought I’d take a moment, however, to share with you my favorite books of the year—a hard choice, given that so many excellent works were published in 2016. These 11 books, listed alphabetically by title, are my choices for the best of the year. Links take you to my reviews.

Amateurs, Dylan Hicks

The Girls, Emma Cline

Hag-Seed, Margaret Atwood

High Dive, Jonathan Lee

Imagine Me Gone, Adam Haslett

Memoirs of a Polar Bear, Yoko Tawada

Orson Welles, Vol. 3: One-Man Band, Simon Callow

The Red Car, Marcy Dermansky

The Return: Fathers, Sons, and the Land in Between, Hisham Matar

The Vegetarian, Han Kang

What Belongs to You, Garth Greenwell

***

You might enjoy reading some of my other reviews from the past couple of years, too.

Leave a Reply

